BMO Plowing Competition Winners  -  IPM 2016 Special Prizes  -  Minto, ON

Plowing WinnersSpecial Winners

  Harold Nie Memorial Special

To the highest aggregate score in Class 1 by a first time competitor

WINNER:  Durk Devries, Shallow Lake

  Sydney Sisler Memorial Special

To the Junior Champion Tractor Plowperson

WINNER: Ben Henderson, Cambridge

  Fred and Helen Davenport Memorial Award

A pocket watch will be presented to the tractor plowing competitor with the highest aggregate score in four (4) days of plowing, including Class 2, 3, 4 and under the age of 16 years. Previous winners are not eligible. Fred Davenport was an OPA Director for 15 years.

WINNER:  Hailey Gruber, Richmond, Minnesota, USA

  Eliot Moses Memorial Special

A piece of Native Pottery will be presented to the contestant with the greatest number of points in Class 2, 3, 4 - Group 1 and 2 who were born after 1995. Contestant must compete each day that plowing competition is held during the match. This award, donated by the Moses Family, is in memory of Eliot Moses, from Oshweken, who was an OPA President in 1933 and was a director for 33 years until 1960. Previous winners are not eligible.

WINNER: Ben Henderson, Cambridge

  Gordon Bradfield Memorial Special

The Bradfield Family, in memory of the late Gordon Bradfield, will present an Award to the Contestant with the highest aggregate scores in Classes 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6.
Gordon Bradfield was a Veteran Plowmen and an IPM Judge.

WINNER:    Gene Gruber, Richmond, Minnesota, USA      

John S. Moffatt Memorial Trophy

A trophy and $100 will be awarded to the Top Drag Plow winner.  This trophy is in loving memory of John S. Moffatt and is donated by his wife Elizabeth and family.

WINNER:   Ken Milligan, Strathroy     

IPM Champion Horse Plow Person Award

(Highest total points scored by a plow person at the IPM in Class 1)
Ontario Champion Horse Plow Person  $300.00
Ontario Reserve Champion Horse Plow Person  $200.00

Champion:  Terry Linton, Roseneath 
Reserve:      Scott Thomas, Elmwood

Lloyd VanDusen Award

This award is for the Best Overall Walking Plow Team.
Lloyd VanDusen competed in the Draft Horse Walking Plow Competition for years. The award is donated in Memory of Lloyd VanDusen by his children.  
Trophy and keeper award will be presented to the overall winner of Class 1, Groups 1-2.

WINNER:   Terry Linton, Roseneath     

 IPM Champion Antique Award

(Highest total points scored by a plow person at the IPM in Class 6)
IPM Champion Antique Plow Person  $300.00
IPM Reserve Champion Antique Plow Person $200.00

Champion: Ken Milligan, Strathroy 
Reserve: Ken O’Brien, Midhurst

 Graeme, Helen and Michael Craig Special

Winner: Carmen Weppler, Clifford
Winner: Eric Ferguson, Sunderland
Winner: Daryl Hostrawser, East Garafraxa
Winner: Tom Evans, Tiverton

Winner: Ben Henderson, Cambridge
Winner: Shawn Ryan, Dashwood

Ontario Championship Tractor Plowing

The Champion and Reserve from Class 5, Group 1 and 2 will qualify to compete in the 2016 Canadian Plowing Championships in Ottawa-Carleton

Donated by: Kverneland Group North America

Group 1 - Conventional

Presented by: 


Group 2 - Reversible

Presented by: 


IPM Champion Tractor Award

(Highest total points scored by a Plow Person at the IPM in Classes 2, 3, 4, and 5)
IPM Champion Tractor Plow Person $300.00
IPM Reserve Champion Tractor Plow Person  $200.00

Champion: Gene Gruber, Richmond, Minnesota, USA
Reserve:     Daryl Hostrawser, East Garafraxa


Orville and Ruth Fried Special

A Coat/Hat will be awarded per contestant qualifying to compete in the 2016 Canadian Championships in the Junior and Senior Classes.  Orville Fried is a past plowman and currently is an IPM Judge.  Orville and Ruth Fried are very active in the Oxford-Blenheim Plowmen’s Association.

Presented by: 

Conventional Plows

Reversible Plow



Sponsored by Barb's Friends

The Scholarship is available to contestants who have reached their 16th birthday as of the 1st day of the IPM but have not reached their 20th birthday as of the 1st day of the IPM.  Scholarship money is to be used towards education at a University, College, apprenticeship or an institution approved by the Executive of the Ontario Plowmen’s Association.  The winner may be required to appear at an event for Ontario Plowmen’s Association.  Money will be dispersed upon proof of enrolment.  
Previous winners are not eligible.
One – (1), $2,500.00 Scholarship will be awarded.

WINNER:  Shawn Ryan, Dashwood